Elia Murru
Studying in the U.S. Americans are not friendly as you might expect

I studied for one year in the U.S. as a graduate student. My idea of Americans was: cool and friendly people. This was true, people were generally kind if I asked information on the streets. Then the class, the first day was a bit weird. I was the only foreigner out of 20 students. No one said hello to each other before the class, no one said goodbye after. I thought, maybe everyone is shy, but then things did not change much after the class. I ended up taking six classes, got friends with only 2 americans, the other guys were mostly Chinese and Korean. Very nice people, I was suprised in a positive way, but Americans did disappoint me.

What is your experience as a foreigner, studying in the U.S.?

Aug 29, 2015 8:51 AM
Comments · 7

I studied in the US and my experience is the opposite. I never met so many friendly people in my whole life as I did back in the U.S. Such friendly, smiley and polite people I should say. Wish Brazilians were like them, but here no one says Hi or gives a smile to strangers. Brazilians have " a stereotype " fame that they're friendly, open and extrovert. That only happens when you're familiar with the person or when you're a white foreigner. If you are a mere strange Brazilian, then you feel the coldness in people and I didn't feel that while I was in the U.S 

August 29, 2015

Hey Elia,

I think your perceptions about Americans are all wrong. In terms of a class setting, people don't generally all say hi and bye when entering and leaving the class unless they know each other. I think most countries are like this as well, other than the initial manadatory greetings you need to get to know people before expecting such friendly gestures.