Leo
Should italki teachers keep their time schedule accurate?

I'm not a teacher, so I don't know how difficult it is to keep a time schedule up to date, but I'm guessing it's not to bad. As a student, it's frustrating to me when I request a lesson and later find out that the teacher isn't really available at that time. By the time the request expires, it might be too late to book someone else for that hour. Or another possible scenario is the teacher will accept, then immediately request a reschedule. Imo, this is borderline unethical.

In a recent thread here I was amazed that one teacher actually complained her students were trying to book lessons when she wasn't available. Either she doesn't understand the time schedule thing, or she doesn't feel it's necessary to keep it accurate.

What do you think - should italki teachers keep their time schedule accurate?

Oct 3, 2015 11:22 PM
Comments · 17

Teacher here! I thought I'd add my two cents.

As a professional teacher, I try to keep my schedule as accurate as possible, but italki isn't the only place I, and many professional teachers, teach. Many teachers have a day job. I'm a freelance teacher per my visa in Germany and I must keep my in-person students to keep my visa. These lessons are quite unpredictable, and to be honest, these classes pay a lot more than italki sessions. Italki's calendar needs to be updated through their system, so when you're on the go, it isn't so easy to do. Teaching also requires us to be connected to the student in front of us and not our computers, so response times can vary with our schedules. As for being online and not responding, I can't really speak to this, except sometimes I leave my computer on when I'm out of the house or doing something else; italki usually stays open in my browswer.

Hope this helps and gives you some insight. 

October 4, 2015

I thought the same thing, Xana.  Maybe Aegis needs a different platform. It sounds like italki frustrates you in general, Aegis.