[Deleted]
I am working in Biotechnology and Nanotechnology and I want to know if you know something about it?

Do you know something about biotechnology and nanotechnology? I want to discuss about it!

Oct 30, 2015 9:20 PM
Comments · 20

I am a former research chemist, however that was before nanotechnology was developed.

After working as a chemist I became an occupational health and safety consultant and trainer.

After 25 of OHS work I had one brief encounter with a new nanotechnology research firm, however, after I described my concern regarding worker's exposure to nano particles and the potential (as yet unknown) adverse health effects, the CEO decided to ignore the health and safety concerns, and thus ended my consultation with that company.

Because the technology is new and still in the research stage, there is very little epidemiological data and information regarding the effects of exposure to nano particles.

Here are a few links that address the issue from a health and safety perspective (2014):

http://www.cdc.gov/niosh/topics/nanotech/

http://blogs.cdc.gov/niosh-science-blog/2011/12/07/resp-nano/

http://www.cdc.gov/niosh/docs/2014-106/pdfs/2014-106.pdf

I am sure that more current information is available.

You may want to do a Google Search using the search terms 'respiratory protection against airborne nanoparticles".

Please protect yourself against any potential hazards related to working with and exposure to nanoparticles.

November 27, 2015

Wow! ....

What are you working on at the moment, Mary? It is quite interesting !

Anything exciting we can look forward to?

November 11, 2015

Mary, you are a real teacher. Professor. Nobel prize waits you soon.

November 26, 2015

Ive been working with nanoparticles for remediation of oil in oil-water emulsions.

I did biopolymers to make biodegradable films, and in my master thesis I did a biosurfactant with acid lactic bacteria for enhanced oil recovery.