Site Feedback

Do you read books in a foreign language ?

And if you do, what do you do with words you don't know?

Do you use a dictionary or just get the meaning through the text?

Do you check the pronunciation or not?

When I read, the book absorbs me and I don't take time to open a dictionary. I still understand the story but it often leads to mispronunciation (at least in my head).

In English, the pronunciation is not always what I thought it would be !

So, what about you? What do you do when you read books in a foreign language?

Hi! it is a good question because I think it depends on how much vocabulary you already know. In my case, I like to read in languages I am still learning so I can get used to not only to speak a second language but to think in a second language which is more important. I personally go through the whole chapter reading and highlighting the words that I don´t understand, then when I finish, I came back at the begining and start looking for the words I highlighted in the dictionary and writing the meaning under the word, when I finish with all the words I started reading from the begining of the chapter again and that´s how I learn new words and make them part of my vocabulary. :)

I read books are wrtten in foreign languages at times for improving my language skills. I try to do as many as I can such as listening to the radio, watching movies without subtitles and so on.

I am the same way with you. Don't want to waste my time to open a dictionary, so I often skip it because there are tons of words that I don't know and it takes lots of time if I look all the words up! But I understand what's going on somehow. If not, i try to find an easier book which more fits my current skills.

Yes, usually I only find the meaning through the text and denoted those words, so I can find the meaning later.