Site Feedback

Does anyone have the same problem when they're learning a second foreign language?

My first foreign language was German which I studied for about 2 years. I'm currently in the south of France for a month, and whenever I try to speak or think of something in French, I always unconciously begin to speak or think in German instead. Does anyone else have this problem?

Share:

Comments

I have the same problem between my first language (english) and my second (german).

I think the only solution is...practicing!!

Good luck :)

Yes! I learned spanish in school but never really practice it. Recently I've been learning Swedish and oracticing it a lot every day, and when I try to think of a phrase in Spanish I'll mix the two, and end up with something like "Quiero att äta la comida china," (I want (Spanish) to eat (Swedish) Chinese food (Spanish)). It's like there's only 2 settings in my mind: English, and "Foreign". But I think it will probably improve with practice :) Good luck!

Always, my native language is Spanish, i also speak English, and went to a German school but i hardly can make a sentence, now i'm learning french, and when i'm trying to say something i make a nice mix of every language, lol!.

it depends on the two languages that you speak. if they are close, like French and Spanish, it is ok to mix as a beginner, it can only help to communicate,hehe.

I have learend English for a long time, I dont have a problem when I learn Japanese, these two language are very different, problem occured when I learn French... they are similar prounciation in many words but very different in grammer... each time before I speak French, I always have English in my mind, basically I replace English words to French into a English sentence...