Site Feedback

Overpopulation

Is it an issue?

What is to be done?

What do you think of couples who have large families?

I think the quality of life would be better in many countries if they had fewer people. I think for some the issue lies with education and women not having control over their reproduction. I think the population is going to keep growing and put such a large strain on resources which will create higher tensions in domestic and international politics. I don't see anything positive from this.

What's your opinion?

Share:

Comments

Yes, it's a huge issue, and I don't think enough people realize how bad it is. I'm studying to be a wildlife biologist; the state of wildlife around the world is extremely sad. The most common field of research in some areas now appears to be how to deal with habitats that are too small and fragmented to support viable populations of animals.

Animals notwithstanding, it's a concern that we will overstep our carrying capacity (a finite number of beings that can survive in an area). I study caribou, and caribou can reproduce very quickly (just like humans). When caribou are introduced to small islands with limited resources and no predators (just like humans on the island that is Earth), they reproduce very quickly, like we have seen with our own population. Soon, as the population begins to grow, animals in some areas may not be able to find enough food to survive and they begin dying. Animals become very closely packed together, and diseases start spreading faster. They become small, sickly, and very thin. They start to fight over who gets the scarce patches of food. Soon, they've literally eaten themselves out of house and home, and the entire population dies because there is not a single bite of food left.

Of course caribou aren't people - we have technology, communication and cooperation, etc... But the similarities are still close enough to frighten me at times.