Site Feedback

AMERICAN ENGLISH SPEAKERS LEARNING ARABIC

I have a question for ONLY native speakers of American English.

When did you start learning Arabic?

How often do you study?

Which learning tools are most effective for you?

What aspects of Arabic have been the most challenging for you?

What aspects has been easier of learning Arabic for you?

What level are you at and describe please?

Do you speak any other languages?

What books did you start with ( please put title/author if able to)?

Any additional thoughts/comments?

Share:

Comments

Hi Misslinda,

I started learning Arabic back in around 2006 I think.  This was altogether I did about three semesters in university and I studied abroad for one summer semester.  However, outside of class, I didn't really do much with the language and I basically stopped studying for a few years.

Right now I try to study everyday. Unfortunately that doesn't always happen right now.

I'm learning a spoken dialect, and one of the most helpful tools for me has been the Pimsleur CD's. For some they're expensive, but many public libraries have them. It helped me to learn the language and grammar without "directly" learning grammar and it also allowed me to become more comfortable in speaking.

Italki has also been great since I'm able to now meet native speakers and converse with them regularly (depending on the person).

The book series Kallimni Arabi has been wonderful as well (though this is for Egyptian colloquial Arabic).

Anki (http://ankiweb.net) is a great resource for making your own flashcards to use on your computer, online, or on a smartphone (best on Android from my experience).