Site Feedback

Polyglots?

Are there any polyglots here? How many languages do you speak? Have you ever tried to study two languages at the same time? If so, what was your strategy in doing so? Thank you for helping me find a good study plan.

Share:

Comments

I wouldn't call myself a polyglot yet, but this year I started and am continuing to learn 5 at the same time. I didn't sit down and plan a strategy, so this may or may not be helpful to you, but one big reason I didn't practice or try to improve my French even though I studied it for 6 years in school was because I couldn't sit down and study (and I didn't have the confidence, but that's another story).  By allowing myself to indulge in other languages, I feel more free and more motivated to learn each one. This isn't necessarily the best strategy, and certainly not the fastest, but it keeps me at it: from week to week, sometimes day to day, I change what language I work on. Sometimes I feel like doing languages and I sit down with French and Japanese books, and sometimes it's Italian, whatever I feel like. I can innundate myself in French, get tired of it, but get reenergized by doing another language. That's what works for me so far.