Site Feedback

Expanding Your Vocabulary

Hi everyone. I'm currently studying Japanese and I'm looking to expand my vocabulary. What are some techniques that have helped you memorize more termonology?

Share:

Comments

Hi David.

1) books

In Japan there are many English vocabulary books for learners.

Thankfully, such books contents depend on the learner's goal or ability.

As you know, there are several kinds of exam for English, for example for TOEIC,

TOEFL, IELTS, EIKEN or university entrance exam.

Many of them are published for some kinds of levels or classes.

So I have chosed which level's textbook to learn accoding to my English level.

I hope those who learn Japanese language have the same circumstance.

2)online dictionary

Do you use Eijiro?

http://eow.alc.co.jp/search?q=how+to+study

When I learn a new word, I check it here how to use it with example sentence.

You can look in the dictionary in both of Japanese and English.

You can set Japanese words or sentenses with hiragana, probably.

I often realize I can expand my vocablary in this dictionary.

I'm sorry those ways I introduced to you are not so special to learn.

For me Japanese musics and J-dramas/movies worked like a charm!

1. I always try to listen to songs and memorize the lyrics and the ones that I like the most, I play them on guitar and sing out loud. (Most of the nice songs are of J-pop genre...;D)

2. Also, I have watched countless numbers of Japanese movies and dramas (by the way, J-dramas are super addictive once you start watching them!!!). This helped me to understand Japanese vocabularies and recognize Japanese words and phrases faster than before.

I hope my suggestions were somewhat helpful to you. At least the first idea about listening and singing J-musics is a good one (I think!)...

Talk to you soon...^_^