Site Feedback

If i learn Chinese can i understand Taiwanese when i go there?

I started learning Chinese and then stopped and asked myself if it will even help me if i learn? If i learn how to talk Chinese, And go to Taiwan will i be able to understand them and them me? Or is the difference between the two languages too big ?? Please! i need answers! If it is a big difference, Is there anyone who is willing to help me learn Taiwanese?? Or Not help me literally but can anyone at least give me a good link to someone from youtube that teaches Taiwanese well? I really want to learn Taiwanese, I need serious help!!! D: Thank you in advanced.

Share:

Comments

People in the Mainland China speak Putonghua while people in Taiwan speak Mandarin. Basically these two are the same spoken language with different names due to political reasons. However for the written characters, simplified Chinese is adopted in the Mainland wheras the traditional Chinese is used in Taiwan. Take a look at the language option of this website and you can see there are two sets of Chinese for you to choose.

actually if u can spoken Chinese, tai wan people can uderstand what are u talking about. don't worry, because tai wan and china use same language. and tai wan is a beatiful place and more helpful guys , i love there. enjoy ur journey.

yes..taiwanese can definitely understand what you say if you use Standard mandarin(Putonghua) from mainland...the relationship between Mainland standard Mandarin and Taiwan standard mandarin(I don't know the dialectal situations in taiwan) is much closer than the relationship betw American English and British English

在台灣. 最常使用的語言文字是中文. 我這樣寫. 你看得懂嗎?

Thank you all so very much!! You have helped me so much! V,.V

Be aware there is a dialect called Taiwanese, which is similar to Fujian dialect. That one you might have trouble with.

Taiwanese generally speak Chinese Mandarin,Some people say that China Mandarin will merge Taiwan dialect:)