Site Feedback

How Safe is South Korea?

I am a student in high school and I really want to go on exchange to either Japan or South Korea. I'm really interested in both countries and am currently trying to figure out which one I want to go to. One problem: convincing my parents. Right now, I'm trying to convince them to let me go to Japan, because whenever I mention Korea, it becomes out of the question. From what I've heard about South Korea is that it's safe and most of the threats from north korea are bluffs and it's perfectly safe to go. So what I'm wondering is if anyone has any information to help prove to my parents that South Korea is a safe country to go to, or if I'm wrong and South Korea really is a war zone.

Share:

Comments

Let your parents understand (in case they don't) that North and South Korea are separate countries and that while the North hates America, the South is one of our very close allies in the world. In terms of your own concerns, you are correct. Despite the Korean War (in which my grandfather served) still technically being on and having never ended, there is no "war" happening, just a lot of soldiers staring at each other, literally across the border of each other. Any invasion would be met by both American and South Korean servicemen. Hope you can convince your parents!

I've been to Seoul a couple of times. It's pretty safe and modern. As far as a war threat is concerned, I hope a local South Korean will clear things up for both of us. Personally, I have no fear about going back again. :)