Site Feedback

What is School like in your country?

I am studying to be a teacher of English as a second language.  I have been looking at places I would like to teach.  A regional school or college in China is my first preference.  One of the things that strikes me, is that class sizes are much larger than I am used to.  

I am very interested to hear how your school experience is different to mine.  I suspect there are very interesting cultural differences here.

Perhaps we can share some experiences?

~~Andrew

Share:

Comments

First come visit the Philippines. i'm sure you will be accomodated as you are very good with your native

tongue. our school is the same with  other countries. it is run by Public (Government) and Private

(privately established Non Government) its medium of instruction is mostly Combined British/American

Englishes. It is in its second year implementation of K-12 curriculum for grade school and High school.

( a 3 years kindergarten, 7 years in Grade School , and 6  years in High School) with minimum of 4 years in College depending on the course to choose and a maximum of 10 years for other Degrees. we have Premier universities and Colleges that produces Excellent if not Outstanding individuals that can globally

compete with other nations.

It depends on where you teach in the world as class sizes vary greatly. I taught in Korea for a year (loved it, excellent $$$) and had no more then 10 kids in a class. For ESL learners the classes should be small because people need to practice and get specialized attention. In places such as Canada, ESL classes can top 40 people which is too many.

For China, how many students you get will depend on the school.

I am here right now if you have any other questions. Feel free to DM.

: )

Ang

I think almost chinese student will like foreign teachers...and respect foreign teachers.

but many student are very shy and no english,so they will not active to talk to you.