Site Feedback

what are the best ways to reduce your accent in a foreign language?

OOPT

I'm studying to become an accent reductionist and I'm interested in what ways people already use to reduce their accents in foreign languages. 

Do you sing foreign songs?

repeat foreigners speaking their native tongues?

repeat actors in film/tv?

try to put on a French accent when speaking French?

practice individual letter sounds?

practice sounds word by word?

practice sentences?

Share:

Comments

so as for me it is better to listen and to repeat foreign  songs, and watching movies and try to copy the way of speaking

I listen to my teacher correcting me and repeat after her\him ( if it is necessary several times). Then I practice at home and read at the next lesson.

If the\a teacher can't explain what to do, it is a good idea to find another teacher)))

I agree that there are students\people that will never be able to get rid of their accents, but they should work hard at least to reduce them(accents). 

Only your teacher (better a foreigner) can hear the accent at the beginning, that is why we need him\her. That is why we( students) should not blame ourselves for bad sounds at the beginning.

There are very few people who can imitate sounds correctly from the very beginning (of studying), I think. So it is better not to repeat\remember wrong sounds( watching TV, for example), because later it will take more time to re-learn them\ or re-teach you.

Practice makes perfect.

Here is what works for me: