Site Feedback

Contacting tutors and teachers

Hi,

I have tried sending messages to four tutors/teachers here at iTalki. None have responded. Is there a problem with the mailing system, or are the teachers just not interested in getting new students???

Share:

Comments

I've been on italki for a while and I have had some interesting experiences. First of all, I think it's important to know that most teachers here aren't entirely motivated by money. The rates in italki are quite low (especially once you deduct italki fees and paypal fees) so anyone teaching on this site is doing it because they really enjoy it. Teaching in general (as I'm sure you know) is notoriously underpaid. Teachers do it because they enjoy it.

I **always** reply to cordial messages. I have spent a lot of time going back and forth with parents about their kids, about how people can learn better, about exactly what my sessions are, why I think bilingual teachers are better for beginners, etc. Most folks are nice and appreciate my time in writing long replies.

As with any social networking site, there are anonymous users here, and it can be SCARY to stake your reputation on any contact with potentially rude or unreasonable people. I had a 'student' hassle for me a week because I declined to have further sessions with him. Yikes!

I've been teaching ESL since my early twenties -- I've invested thousands of dollars in my education, certifications, blah, blah, blah -- and I am cautious now about who I say "yes" to. This is my real life -- once you connect with me on Skype, you know my real name and my email and you can find out where I work -- and then who knows what?

Teachers want students, students want teachers and the best beginning is MUCH respect.

If I don't sense **respect** in the first message, I might reply -- to be polite -- but I don't try to cultivate a relationship.

I am not saying this is YOU -- not at all :-)