Site Feedback

Can you learn a foreign language by learning its grammar?

In many countries a foreign language can be easily taught whereas  in some countries can't.

Should curriculum bechanged in those countries where students cannot speak a foreign language.

How many hours a d week do children take lessons? Is 2-3 enogh or should it be about 20 hours?

What do you think about the wrong foot?

Share:

Comments

No, I can’t. I think that it is necessary for learning language to practice speaking, listening, writing, and reading as well as grammar. I have been studying English for 2years. I try to keep balance. I think that diversification of proper method is needed in order to continue studying language.

I think English grammar is very hard, it is so different from Chinese. Though I have been learning English for ten years, my English is still very bad. I just learn basic English in school and I don't practice it much after class. I think learning one to two hours a day is enough and in addition, grammar is important but I think speaking is more important than grammar. 

I can tell you as a ESL teacher in Taiwan, time is not the issue. I have students that literally spend 20 hours a week studying, cramming vocabulary for years.... but they still can't speak or write very well. The important thing is to have an interest or a motivation. 

Right now, I'm learning German in a class full of Chinese students. My goal is to be able to pass A1 by the end of the semester. However, this teacher and students aren't motivated to learn. They are still "stuck" on the first few pages of the textbook. Meticulously memorizing each word and yet when I ask them "How are you?" They have to pause to think of the answer.