Site Feedback

what is the best way to learn with a language partner?

I am interested to know how others work with their language partners on skype?

What is the best way to  use the time so that both parties can improve their chosen language.

If anyone out there has experience of trying several different approaches then maybe you could share your ideas. I am quite new to this game and am really keen to learn.

Thanks 

Share:

Comments

Hi Maria:

If  you look at my notebook entries, you will see examples of some of the materialsi I use with my students. 

I find that it is best to work with a specific text.   I begin by  reading a phrase at a time, so that the student can repeat  with correct pronuncation.

If it is a song,  I try to give a video  link. Often I will sing the song for the student.

I don't ask students to sing songs, but read the lyrics at the next lesson.

Nursery Rhymes and slow ballads  are great  early lessons.    Then there are a few poems  that can be used.

Leo Tolstoy has some excellent short stories in simple English that you can pull right off of the Internet.

Stories like  Greek Classics are available online (Tragedies)  etc.

Also,  stories like Alice in Wonderland  are available.

Beginning students do best  with a simple vocabulary. After I evaluate  the student's ability,

I  give my person    lessons in advance / academic vocabulary.

.  The main point though, is that students are shy, and nervous, and really appreciate it when you work from some kind of a text so that they are not compelled to start generating sentences.

I think a good teacher  leads the student.

Hello,well,first,you have to find a  suitable language partner. With your same interests, and willing to help you with his-her native language,and not only to receive your help.

Then,it´s up to you both what you choose to do.