Site Feedback

How many is too many?

Hello experienced italk-ers,

I'm super excited to be on italki learning Spanish and Thai and helping others out with their English. I expected to have trouble finding partners because English is so common, but I've already met an overwhelming number of people to practice with in just a few days. 

Personally, if I decide to be someone's partner, then that means I truly want to help correct his/her written English and chat in both languages either in writing or via Skype. I can't possibly keep up with hundreds of people, so I've kept my "following" list to about thirty. Every time I've ignored a request, though, I've felt a twinge of guilt. Maybe it's because I am actually a teacher in my real job; wanting to help everyone is just a part of who I am.

So, I'm curious... How do you do it? Do you accept everyone as your partner? Do you try to keep to a maximum limit like I'm trying to do? Do you just accept that having a big list of people you're following means you won't get around to helping everyone on your list? 

I'm benefitting a lot from the corrections people have given me in Spanish and Thai, and I want to make sure I'm a positive force in this community, too.

:)

Share:

Comments

Hi Mezzie,

I definitely don't know how many are too many but I can tell you one thing - When I try to be friend with someone who already has many friends, these become my friends but often don't answer my messages, especially if they are women who are overwhelmed with requests. If they don't answer me I no longer follow them and I try to keep those who answer me.

It's certainly difficult to keep many friends and to look after friendship, isn't it?

All the best!

Wow! I like this question. I've recently started an Italki account thinking I wouldn't find/have that many language partners as well. It's amazing how wrong I was.