[Deleted]
Arabic writing for a beginner (I would like all the help I can get)

Hello, I am very new to Arabic and my professor has been going over short vowels i.e. Fat ha, Damma and Kasra. I understand that those are used to change the sound of the letter but sometimes it is confusing. I have a hard time reading a word and pronouncing it without any help. Usually, once someone tells me how to say it, I am fine. The only letters I know to write is Alif, baa, taa, thaa, waaw, yaa, haa, khaa, jim. I still am very new to writing so I would like as much help as possible. Please and thank you!

Jan 29, 2014 5:56 PM
Comments · 25

It takes a while for me to read a word. Sometimes I'm faster than other times. I have an Arabic keyboard on my phone as well 

January 29, 2014

Example:

- هَتَفَ (pronounced '<em>hatafa</em>', this verb means 'to call')

- هَاتِف (pronounced '<em>haatif</em>', take a wild guess as to what this word means. Yep, a telephone!)

I apologise if my explanation was long-winded; here is my ultimate point: through exposure and occassional contemplation, Arabic word/sentence structure will eventually resonate with you so well that identifying the correct pronounciation of words you don't know will become second nature, completely burnt into your subconscious. If you find my comment confusing, forget about it for the time being; my only intent was to explain how things will work out <em>eventually</em>. Until then, study your vocab and you should be more than fine!

Also, screw italki's character limit!

January 29, 2014

- وَهَبَ (pronounced <em>wahaba), </em>this verb means 'to bestow upon, to endow with, to donate, to grant, etc.'

- بَحَثَ (pronounced <em>bahatha), </em>this verb means 'to search, to seek, to research, etc.

- ثَبَتَ (pronounced <em>thabata), </em>this verb means 'to stand firm, to be fixed, etc.

- وَجَبَ (pronounced <em>wajaba), </em>this verb means 'to become necessary/mandatory'