Site Feedback

Subtitles and TV/Movies in the language you are learning

I am still a beginner in the Japanese language, but I do try to watch a lot of Japanese media. Normally I use English subtitles so I can understand what is going on, but when I do that I have noticed I don't pay as much attention to the audio as much. So if a character is speaking in Japanese, I would read the English subtitles and really not hear the actual Japanese much. 

I have been experimenting with taking subtitles right off and just listening(similar to radio basically). I find I hear the words being said far easier and can concentrate on the language I am trying to learn instead of trying to translate it everytime to English with subtitles.

I think that for a intermediate-advanced learned who is able to comprehend dialogue most of the time this would be even more helpful. By turning on subtitles you will fall into the trap I am, of focusing a lot on your native language instead of focussing on your learning language. The final step to learning a language is skipping that last step of translation and learning to think in the language you are learning.

I encourage all of you who use subtitles to try turning them off and tell me what you think. Those who have already tried this, did you find it more helpful to your learning?

Share:

Comments

Mmm I'm the same. With subtitles, I won't catch anything, but without I catch some words that I'm familiar with. To be honest, at my level, I don't think it's very helpful with or without subtitles, but I think it would be very helpful at a more advanced level.

It is good to familiarize yourself with the sounds of words, so that you're not encountering them for the first time when it comes to practicing conversation.

Nevertheless, without subtitles, I really have no idea what they're saying.