Alexandra 2
Korean Grammar questions :

Hello,

I am studying Korean Grammar 1 year now but I was busy and I couldn't have enough time to study hard.

I have some questions related to ending particles:

1- When we say "Waiting" = "기다리는 or 기다리고" when do we use the gerund noun 기다리고 and when do we use 기다리는? Please give an example so I can easily get it ^^

2- Can you please give me examples of using You : "네가",  "너" and  "당신"

When do we use each one?

And Thank you for your help ^^

Hye Jin.

Jul 12, 2014 11:12 PM
Comments · 6

You have the start of a gerund in what you put in your question, but gerunds in Korean tend to be very confusing for English speakers at first. In this case:

기다리는 것

The confusion for English speakers on that (I think) is that they want to translate that into English as "That thing we're waiting for." However; this particular grammar pattern actually means "Waiting" as a gerung (not present progressive). To get it in an English speaking mind, it might be helpful at first to think of it as "That thing we call Waiting" or "That waiting thing" where you think "thing" as meaning "waiting" as you might say in a humorous way sometimes. It's a strange usage, I know, but that's how I thought of it when I was first learning this pattern.

So:

기다리는 것을 싫어해요. (I don't like waiting.)

You can see the use of the gerund in the pattern I said as the direct object in the sentence.

There are some contractions to know, though, that are often used in spoken Korean:

기다리는 게 = 기다리는 것이

기다리는 걸 = 기다리는 것을

기다리는 건 = 기다리는 것은

So hopefully, that can clear up the things I see in your question.

July 13, 2014