Site Feedback

Is it possible to learn several languages at the same time?

This is a question for you who are currently -or have experiences in- learning more than one languages at the same time.

I'm wondering if it's possible to do? And if it does, how do you do it? Do you learn one language in a period of time, say, few months, and then start with another in the next period? Or do you share your schedule? Like, Monday, Wednesday, Friday for this language, and the rest for another? And do you think your method is effective?

I'm still learning French at the moment. It's not bad but I still need to improve it. In fact, I still immerse myself in French day to day. However, I'm thinking about starting to learn Italian soon. These two languages have similarities, especially in vocabularies (not sure yet about the grammar as I haven't learned it) and I wonder if this fact is going to help or set me back.

I'd highly appreciate it if you share your experiences. Thank you.

Share:

Comments

I have no experience learning two languages but have researched it myself.  I've read that the danger lies in similar language study, aka two romance languages, french and Italian or spanish etc. I could easily see how someone new to language study may have a hard time with this. It is much easier to keep straight in you head vocabulary, pronunciation and grammar if the two languages aren't similar at all supposedly.   Which makes logical sense to me.  For me it comes down to time.  Do I want to devote 100% of my study time to one language to become fluent as fast as possible?  Or do I spread myself thinner among two languages and learn them both slower?  I think it's up to the person but I am currently spending 100% of my time on spanish right now because I have a goal of fluency in 3 months.  I plan on after 3-6 months dedicated spanish study to tackle a language from a different family like Chinese.