Alfredo
How to improve my english at an advanced level?

Hello, I've been speaking english for many years, and I'm looking forward to improve it.

Although I know I still have many mistakes now and then, I feel that I've reached a decent level as a foreign english speaker, so now I'm looking to take a further step.

I already know most of the vocabulary (but the occasional word) that is used in movies, videogames, songs, and modern books, so, sure they are always helpful, but I am looking for a little more.

I've been trying with reading classic books and writing every new word, that's not used so frequently in ordinary language, but, what would be your advice? what are your means to learn a language at an advanced level?

Aug 21, 2014 6:04 AM
Comments · 8

Alfredo:

The difficulty you face  comes from  the issue  of core knowledge.  A persons vocabulary derives from the specific knowledge that they have.  There are basic questions in life which generate ideas, and the vocabulary associated with those ideas has to be   complete so that it serves for a foundation.

In other words, the difficulty is this  in response to the basic question about  "what"

The answer is...."everything".   Of course, you already know that. To have a complete vocabulary you must be familiar with "everything".

So, starting with the fact that you have been trying with   "classic books"  it can be understood that you are reading about "everything".  What may be missing is a specific subject.  The fact is that one specific subject can eventually lead one,  like the branches of a tree  (see "Mind Mapping") to all  other subjects.    (By the way,  when you say "classics"  I hope that means that you read more than "novels".  Novels   can be fun, but they are not always the best way to develop a strong working vocabulary.  I think Non-Fiction is superior for the development of a vocabulary.

August 21, 2014