SteveB300
Learning Spanish and Portuguese at the same time, your thoughts please....

Right, I am learning Spanish and Portuguese at the same time as I love latin culture and the way the languages sound. 

I originally started learning Spanish after visiting the Canary Islands and as I enjoyed learning it so much I started (very slowly) trying to learn some Portuguese. 

Now to be honest I focus a lot more time on Spanish as I have more opportunity to speak it and I feel I can speak quite well and would very much like to continue to improve. 

I read a lot about learning 2 languages at the same time and I notice a lot of people DONT recommend learning these languages together as they are so similar. 

What do you all think? Is anyone also learning these two languages together? If so what are your experiences? 

Aug 22, 2014 2:00 PM
Comments · 5

I started learning Mandarin for the same reasons you are contemplating Steve. I think it is a much better strategy to learn a completley unrelated language. Spanish is a Latin language and so are Portuguese, French, Italian and Romanian so they are all very closely related. I'm not familiar with Russian nor Polish, so I'm afraid I can't help with any comment on those. My guess would be that they wouldn't interfere, but maybe a new conversation directed at people who have studied Spanish and Polish or Russian that the same time might be useful to you. 

Mandarin has actually helped me with my Spanish in the way you were hoping that Portuguese would for you. The further away the language is from Spanish, the more different the sound and culture, I think the better. There's no way I could EVER get anything at all mixed up between Spanish and Mandarin. :) 

Best of luck to you with your new language! 

August 23, 2014

I would suggest something from a different language family than Romance. So Polish or Russian sounds good. You only want to delve into studying similar languages once you have a really good level in one of them.