Lisa
How do you study Danish pronunciation?

And by pronunciation, I don't even mean the quality of sound, but simply how the words are read aloud. There seems to be no way to predict that, and I feel so helpless! :) I know English is maybe even worse in this respect, but I started learning English when I was 6, so I don't really remember how I coped with that. All the other languages I studied afterwards, like German or French, had very strict spelling/pronunciation rules, but not Danish.

I try to listen to Danish speech as much as possible, and I have an excellent tutor who corrects me, but I still struggle. So fellow Danish students, do you have secrets to share? Or is it the case when nothing can help but a lot of practice?

I will also be glad if you share with me your favourite songs in Danish. Danish Disney dubs, which I mostly listen to, are really fun, but some diversity would be great!

Sep 9, 2014 2:12 PM
Comments · 6

You are not the first one to struggle with the Danish pronounciation, even the people who live here do that :-) My best advice would be to use the phonetics in the dictionaries, if you are able to read that.

Good luck :-)

September 9, 2014

I like to use forvo.com whenever I'm not sure how to say a word.

With Danish pronunciation, I find that most words do follow a pattern. I picked up on these once I listened to enough audiobooks (while following along in the text) and followed along with lyrics while listening to music. That's also how I found out the pronunciation of the words that don't quite follow the typical Danish pattern.

For Danish music that isn't Disney, you can look through the Danish Top 20 (Tracklisten). A lot of English, but a lot is also Danish. Find some songs that you like, especially if you're into pop music.

Some Danish music that I like:

Natten by Thomas Holm

Django and Gi' Mig Et Smil both by Wafande

Kongens Have by TopGunn

Multiple songs by Yepha (or UFO Yepha) or featuring him.