Andromeda Romano-Lax
Do you think it's a bad idea to study two foreign languages at the same time?

I recently started learning Mandarin while I was living in Taiwan. I'm now studying Spanish (intermediate level) to prepare for living in Mexico. I don't want to lose the very few words and characters I learned in Mandarin. Is anyone out here trying to learn two languages at the same time, or trying to hold onto multiple languages they learned in the past? Is there any advantage to learning multiple languages at the same time? I'm pretty sure I have limited brain space but I was curious what others think.

Sep 15, 2014 8:21 PM
Comments · 9

In my opinion it is good to have a foreign language of top priority, but learning others at the same time makes your schedule less dull. For me it's a brilliant way of memory training and if you are really devoted, you shouldn't have problems with studying thoroughly at least two new languages. A third can be treated as entertainment and when you finally master the former two fluently, you will be able to focus more on it. Good luck!

September 15, 2014

I'm learning Spanish and Mandarin at the same time. They are so radically different from one another that they don't seem to interfere with each other in the slightest. The only disadvantage is that perhaps you "could" spend more time on just one if you weren't learning both and go faster in learning one, but I actually find that learning both languages keeps me even more interested so it's not like I would spend more time on either of them if I gave one up. I spend more time on each of them learning both than I would spend on either alone, so there's no downside for me at all. 

September 15, 2014

Do I think it's a bad idea? Of course not! Do I think it'll be difficult? Quite possibly.