Liz
how do you practice speaking the language you're learning? *especially for beginners

where i live there are very limited places where you can practice beginner's french. most groups are very advanced, and even the confidence booster practice groups are upper intermediate... so as a beginner i find it very hard to actually practice speaking on a day to day basis... most skype contacts i have are with people in france. and the difference in time between australia and france is the main reason why i havent gotten any practice yet. :/  

last weekend i went to the confidence booster practice group and aside from one other person who's a beginner, the other 8 or so people were all intermediate to upper intermediate speakers... the group leader kind of left us two beginners there and we really struggled... for like an hour! awkard much?? lol  plus, when i came home and had my italki french lesson my pronounciation got worse! which is funny but really made me think, if you are learning a new language it may not be the best to practice with other people who are just starting as well? i mean it would be like the blind leading the blind?? lol also, if i'm speaking at home to myself it doesn't help too much either because i have no idea how my pronounciation sounds :/

my question here for discussion is: how do you practice speaking at home? have you found language partners or groups? if so, how have they helped you in learning the language of your choice? what are some challenges you face? and aside from here on italki, what are some ways you have learnt to speak? and lastly, do you have any suggestions for me?

thanks!

:)

Sep 30, 2014 6:56 AM
Comments · 8