Kendall C
Is anyone learning both Cantonese and Mandarin at the same time?

I'm considering learning both at the same time, but am not sure if it would be too confusing. Does anyone have any experience with that?

Oct 2, 2014 10:55 PM
Comments · 30

Thank you everyone for your comments! I think I've come to the conclusion that I need to get a lot better at Cantonese before I attempt Mandarin. :)

October 7, 2014

I am studying both, but I wouldn't suggest beginning both at the same time. Don't listen to people who say that Cantonese is useless. Everyone is different. Not everybody who speaks Cantonese also speaks Mandarin. Even if the people who you want to speak to speak Mandarin, if they prefer to speak Cantonese then you should study Cantonese. My wife speaks Mandarin, but my in-laws are from Vietnam and they don't speak Mandarin. They speak Vietnamese, too, but they prefer Cantonese and whenever they get together with their family they always use Cantonese. Being at a family gathering and not knowing what other people are saying means you don't really feel like one of the family. You did not say what your motivation for learning was, but I doubt it's just for making money. If so, of course learning Mandarin would be better in most cases.

January 16, 2015

I speak both fluently as my family speaks cantonese and I have a alot of friends that speak Mandarin.

In my opinion though, I would learn Cantonese first as cantonese may be a bit harder to pronounce, you may find Mandarin a bit easier after learning it.

For what I have experience, cantonese speakers tend to learn mandarin better instead of the other way. Mandarin speakers usually have an accent or find it hard to pronounce accurately when they learn cantonese.

October 14, 2014