Janvier Suman
Best city in Japan?

Is there any so called Best place or city in Japan? I'm thinking of Staying in Japan for Vacation and study purpose in like a year or two.

I was wondering, is there any specific city that is good for Japanese beginer like me to go?

Im thinking of Osaka, I heard, they have the best food in Japan and since I'm a Traveling Chef, So I think that should be the place for me :D

What you guys think?

Oct 23, 2014 1:40 AM
Comments · 3

"Best" often depends on your personal situation and opinion.

I've been to all the major islands, and I personally like the island of Kyushu the best. It's very green, and the cities aren't as big and crowded as the mega-cities of Osaka, Nagoya and of course Tokyo. They say there are over 5 million people in the Fukuoka metropolitan area, but it didn't feel like it was over 5 million to me in my experience. (I see Wikipedia advertises the city as being "ranked 12th of the world's most livable cities".) Korea is only a short hop across the strait, and you can even catch a ferry across.

If you like a place with less history, there's the fast-growing city of Kitakyushu, then there are the other famous major cities of Nagasaki, Kumamoto and Kagoshima.

As a lot of history, culture and overseas contacts in Japan started from Kyushu and spread to the rest of Japan, it is also a "Mecca" for food pilgrimages - which may interest you as a Traveling Chef.

Osaka has a really big population and I didn't think it was too beautiful. Kobe next door (really part of the same conurbation) looks a little better to me, and it has a longer history of foreign trade than Osaka, and as a result it has one of Japan's largest Chinatowns. The nearby ancient capital of Kyoto (with a lot of modern conveniences too) is another option.

As Japan is an old nation, regional accents/vocabulary have developed in the different parts of the nation. You haven't said how much that matters to you.