Nicole
Russian Cursive

I find it interesting that Russians use cursive to write. Now in America cursive is dying in popularity. I learned English cursive in elementary school but I no longer remember all of it or use it. I only use it to sign my name in documents. Universities want printed papers not hand written now so it is no longer used in schools. I no longer see it written in hand written notes. Only by older people like my grandparents.

What about unimportant information hand written in Russian? Are they still in Russian cursive?

Like Shopping lists

Small reminder notes

Is it ever normal to hand write in block Russian letters?

I am learning to write Russian cursive and just curious how popular it really is to write hand written notes in cursive.

Oct 23, 2014 1:47 AM
Comments · 10

When I started learning Russian my teacher found it very odd that I wasn't writing in cursive - here, handwriting is always in cursive.  Writing Russian 'in block' would be a bit like writing EVERYTHING IN CAPS in English - it jarrs people's senses a bit.  What is interesting in Central Asia is that, following Soviet rule, people speaking (and writing) Turkic languages (Kazakh, Kyrgyz, etc...) that now use the cyrillic alphabet also write those languages in cursive cyrillic.  I don't think I've ever seen anyone write a handwritten note in print/block letters any situation. 

October 23, 2014

""There is a long-standing joke among Russians that it is impossible to read doctors' prescriprions in cursive :), which is really true actually."

We make the same joke too.

I'm not learning Russian, but I generally write in cursive in English and I think most people are the same. The only time I print letters is when I'm writing things that other people have to read, like exams.

October 24, 2014

It <em>is</em> an intereseting cultural difference.

Indeed, most Russians write in cursive as it is considered to be faster and is the only way that's taught in school.