Teacher Shona
Professional Teacher
Getting Strange Messages

I understand that whatever website you log on to, there is going to be someone who is a little odd, rude and even inappropriate, but I find the number of messages I get here on italki a little outrageous. Not a week goes by where I don't get a message from a member of the opposite sex saying they want to get to know me, can I add them on Skype for chatting, and recently I even got a message saying 'I want to kiss you'. I'm a teacher on this website, and it should be pretty clear from my profile that I am not here to flirt, but to provide education. So where are all these people coming from? Do other people have this experience as well? 

Oct 28, 2014 3:34 AM
Comments · 36

Can I broach a delicate subject here?

We're dealing not only with misunderstandings between the sexes, but also between cultures. I'm by no means condoning sexist behaviour, but there are cases where you can understand why some guys - particularly those who come from more repressive societies - may get the wrong message.

Needless to say, Shona's photo is lovely, and wholly appropriate for a site such as this one.  However, there are some girls and women here whose profile pictures would not seem out of place on a dating site. We all know the ones - cleavage on show, heavy make-up, alluring 'come on' expressions. Some of these photos would hardly be out of place on the covers if so-called 'glamour' magazines.

These pictures make me feel uncomfortable and embarrassed. What kind of messages are these women trying to send out? Look but don't touch? No wonder some guys are confused. What do other members think?

October 28, 2014

Hi Shona!

Depending on the level of annoyance, I:

1. unfollow them

2. block them

3. block and report them.

Yesterday I blocked and reported one user for the first time, as a matter of fact.

It seems to have worked.

The person's account has been deactivated.

October 28, 2014