Yi.
do you think it's necessary to live with the homestay?

I’m about to studying in Italy very soon, but my Italian is not very good, I’m still a beginner, and have never been abroad before .I’m considering whether it’s necessary to live with the homestay for the first 6 months, or to joint rent with my language school classmates (most of them are Chinese). I think that it is better for my language to live with a homestay; what’s more, it may be the best way for me to get into the local culture. However, it’s expensive. It costs 850€ a month .if I choose to rent with my classmates, the cost will be much cheaper, about 250€ a month personal. But since all my roommates will be Chinese, I’m afraid the apartment may like a small china town and the daily language probably is Chinese. But I want to abandon mother tong when learning a foreign language abroad. Because I’m afraid I may very likely to rely on Chinese when some problems run into my life. I’m struggling with this problem these days.

Nov 16, 2014 4:02 PM
Comments · 8

Hi, I'm talking through direct experience,

I suggest you to save on living, stay with your Chinese friends if you enjoy that,

and spend some money for private or group (small group!) lessons.

Try to join a local hiking club to go hiking on Sundays, you'll be able

to practice your Italian quite a bit, not a bycicle club, talking is very restricted

when bycicling.

December 7, 2014

I don't know in which city you are going to stay in Italy but you can be sure that 850 € is really too much for everywhere.

Take a look to airbnb and in a suburban quarter and you'll find surely something cheeper!

Good luck!

November 23, 2014

You can only learn a language if you use it. You can only learn a language well quickly if you both use it and have a teacher, computer program or exchange student to check the syntax of the sentences you make. If you don't have that, your brain will infer the right syntax anyway, it just takes longer.