Ell
One month of German

You've probably heard about challenges of learning a language over a certain period of time. This time it is no different, and, just like many others, I might burn out and abandon it. At least I will try.

I've almost no German language knowledge, although I can count to seven pretty damn fast (way faster than in French, even though I've been learning it for several months now lol). Seven? Well, I've no idea how to pronounce the successive numbers.

Anyway. Why am I making a post? For one, I need to make it a no-backup. Secondly, I might find essential people along my German path. Now, I don't want to be dependant on other people, and I don't need to be, because I know what to do to learn a language, but it is encouraging and more rewarding to have supportive people at your side.

'tis time yet?

Nov 22, 2014 12:12 PM
Comments · 3

I've been learning for 5 months now (self studying), I'm going to the exam next month hoping to pass A1 level.

Anyway I guess that the most important thing in learning new language is to enjoy it, not only for the sake of learning new language. Personally I like German language, the pronunciation of letters and the tone of the words. 

When you learn a certain language you will also gain somehow the culture of its speakers! so listening to the German music for instance, watching German movies (I love Werner Herzog!), or listening to German radio will help you get into the language more. 

November 24, 2014

Mythbusters: German 

The genders are not important, as recently discussed here.

The subjunctive, auf Deutsch: Konjunktiv, is something that got your German-learning colleage Mr. Mark Twain from America angry. But luckily we've dumbed it down in the meantime. Maybe the "proper" subjunctive was essential in his time, but today we mostly use the dummie version with the auxiliary verb "wäre/n" (a form of "sein").