Marco
A lot of people say: "don't learn English from grammar books"... then how should I do ?

Hi I'm an Italian student and I want to learn English. I study engineering, so I have to study English by myself and I do it from a grammar book since 10 months. Despite this my level has fixed between B1 and B2! I also do daily lessons with app " Duolingo " and sometimes I watch some movies with subtitles ... what can i do more?

Jan 2, 2015 8:44 PM
Comments · 22

I'd say for you to keep studying grammar (and from grammar books) and I am going to tell you why. 

I never studied English grammar. What I learned so far is through assimilation. I didn't have teacher, I didn't attend to a course and today I know how important grammar is. I used to think I could learn English without studying grammar - actually I know it's possible but at certain level grammar is needed. Today I know grammar isn't a stone in the shoe: it's the shortcut! Of course, many language courses today are filled with grammar and grammar (Aaaah!) and it doesn't mean preparation. So keep studying the essential grammar but the most important is to practice. Don't forget that you also learn grammar unconsciously by practicing. 

For example: you can learn how to play a song in an instrument by memorizing what to do but you can't learn how to play the same instrument if you don't study the musical notes (please, if there's any musician, correct me if I'm mistaken). 

Anyway, I'm far from "mastering" English but I know that if I want to reach another level then I can't hide myself from our good friend called grammar... anymore. 

January 3, 2015