Mariam
Where do I start?!

Hello everyone,

I like the sound of Hebrew, and since I already speak Arabic I believe that would somehow help me when learning it. I already know the letters (not the handwritten ones) and can read (yet really slow). Thing is, I don't really know how to start, I'd love to hear about your experiences to help me out. Thanks in advance

I already hear lots of songs (that's what got me started it the first place) 

Jan 9, 2015 12:52 AM
Comments · 4

The way I started learning Hebrew was through a beginner's course in college. In that course they taught us the basic form (binyan Qal) in the past and present, and the future through saying basic things like "I want to do אני רוצה לעשות".

The course was designed for Arabic speakers learning Hebrew and so they assumed we understood some grammatical structures like "al idafa" which is "smichut" in Hebrew, among other similar constructs that are identical in both Arabic and Hebrew. The course also focused on vocabulary that is similar between the two languages, words like katav כתב, ra'a ראה, banah בנה.

The course only showed me the way to start, but from there I kept reading material that was made for natives, and I watched lots of shows, news, and podcasts and all kinds of media that is indended for natives, not learners. This way I dived into the real language, and not the boring stuff you see in learners books. This made the learning experience more engaging, challenging, and more fun and realistic.

January 9, 2015

The only book for learners that I've ever used was the one from that college course. I don't think you can find it anywhere on the internet though because it wasn't published for the public. It was a book from the language center where my teacher used to give Hebrew language courses in Jerusalem. The book's name was "Midabrim Ivrit מדברים עברית" which is also the name of the language center :)