Nicky
"University" 그건 말이 안돼요.

Attention Koreans:

Native English speakers use the word "college", not "university". I keep hearing (and seeing) Koreans using "university" mistakenly, and I figured I should let everyone know. So instead of saying "I'm a university student", you should be saying "I'm a college student." Now when you say the name of your school, that is when you say "I go to Hongik University" (or whatever school you're going too). The word "university" is almost exclusively used within this context.

감사합니다 여러분 ^^

Jan 31, 2015 2:24 PM
Comments · 30

If Korean students never say 'college' and always say 'university', this means that they consider themselves to be university students, surely?

They will have been taught this term by their own tutors at the said universities. This is a description of their level of education in Korea, not in the USA. So, with all due respect, Nicky, I can't see how you can be in a position to tell people in a Korean university that they are wrong about their own education and their own education system.

February 1, 2015

I do not think there is any problem at all with saying "I am a university student" or "I'm going to a university" in the United States. It will be perfectly <em>understood</em> and is perfectly common. I do not think a foreign student who is accustomed to saying "university" should bother to try to change.

It is important to know that in the U.S. "college" usually means "four years of higher education, following high school, leading to a 'bachelor's degree.'" That is, people living in the U.S. need to know that when they hear the word "college," it means higher education, not high school