Tünde
Language learning methods

Hi all! Which methods do you think are the most effective when learning a foreign language? Do you prefer learning the traditional way, by translating everything to your own language and learning the words, or is it better to rather acquire the language by watching films or music videos? Is it better to learn a language on your own or would you rather go to a language course / private teacher? As an English teacher, I have heard opinions from lots of people, but I would also like to know what italki members think.

Feb 26, 2015 9:45 PM
Comments · 20

As a teacher, I have found there is no one most effective way that works for everyone. There don't seem to be even two. This is because everyone learns things differently. Some people are very good at remembering what they here, so just llistening to a lot of the lanugage and finding opportunities to use it works well for them. Others remember better when the see the language written and when they can see a lot of pictures and/or watch films. I could go on. My suggestion for any learner is to try different things: try finding writing exercises, films to watch, quizes, etc. Try each of these things a few times, say five each. Then make a list of the activities that helped you remember the language best and were most interesting. May you will find two or three. Continue with these things or tell your teacher about your findings. This will help the teacher to create an effective plan for you or help you to make a good plan for yourself. I hope this was helpful.

Holly

February 26, 2015