Mumtaz
Community Tutor
Say Thank You!

I've been correcting notes for a few months now because I like to help others, and I'm not doing it because I'm expecting anything in return, but to pay it forward; I help Arabic learners, so they'll do the same to others who need their help in other languages if they can. Yet I feel so weird when I give a correction to someone and they don't say a simple "thank you"! This is happening a lot lately especially from new learners!

Sometimes we thank others with a sincere smile, but since we can only write on italki, a simple "thank you" will do! I thank those who correct for me ALWAYS because I appreciate their time and effort and I never take them for granted, honestly it's the least I could do to repay their kindness. 

There are learners here who thank those who correct for them; by writing that in the comments or by sending a private message, and others that I don't seem to understand; they simply take their corrections without any kind of gratitude! I really wonder if it's a cultural difference! Is it?

Italki members: say "THANK YOU"! It doesn't cost anything...

Mar 6, 2015 6:50 PM
Comments · 52

My sentiments exactly, Mumtaz.

When I help people here - or anywhere else for that matter - I don't expect anything in return. But I do wonder how some people can carry on month after month, accepting the help and advice, without a single word of acknowledgement. Are they such busy people that they can't spare a couple of seconds to type 'Thank you' ?

I don't think it is a cultural issue. There are regular members here who are unfailingly polite and grateful, and others from the exact same country who never acknowledge the help they receive. I won't name names for either group, but we all know who these people are.