Renê
Grammar rules

Hello guys, I have a question for you.

Some people in the internet saying that study grammar rules is not good because babies do not learn to talk like that, what do you think?

Mar 27, 2015 2:02 AM
Comments · 6

I just watched both videos posted here, and these are my thoughts:

Regarding Claudio's video - I think the problem there isn't that students are taught grammar.  It's that students don't practice speaking.  You can't speak well without grammar, but you also can't speak well without practice.

Regarding Rene's video - I agree with some of this guy's points (when speaking, you don't have time to analyze and construct sentences according to correct grammar), but not his conclusion (therefore, don't study grammar).  Unless you are an incredibly gifted learner, you probably won't learn grammar just by listening.  As a personal example - I'm studying Korean, and as part of my study I watch Korean TV shows with English subtitles and try to catch as much of the Korean as I can.  There have been several grammatical constructions that I've heard but have no idea what they're for; -(으)니까 at the end of a sentence is one example.  No matter how many times I hear these, I can't understand what they mean or how to use them.  So, I have to study grammar, and when I finally get to that lesson, I'll be excited and think, "I've heard this!  Now I know how to use it!"  I think, once you've <em>learned</em> the grammar, and you know how to form the constructions and have a general idea of when they should be used, listening to correct grammar and practicing speaking are absolutely important, and that you can't learn to speak fluently without that practice.  But listening and speaking alone won't get you there.

March 27, 2015

I think we are not babies anymore so we are able to learn the grammar, and we should to. :)

March 27, 2015