Symantha
Learning English the FUN way :)

So often, I have heard non-English speakers say how difficult it is to learn new languages. While this is partly true, it makes me wonder if it is difficult because of our approach.

Maybe, if we change our approach and make it fun, talking and writing about something we love, it will become easier :). This is my opinion and I believe it works! What are your thoughts?

Mar 31, 2015 9:00 PM
Comments · 11

I think learn a new language is difficult at first but then and with a lot of practice and patience it becomes easier. As everything in the life it requires effort. On te other hand, you're right, we can learn easier if we find out something fun or relaxing in english.

What do you do to study english?

March 31, 2015

I'm studying Linguistics as my major, and from what i have learnt, in regards to TESOL teaching is that there are so many methods for teaching, based on different goals. I think most language learning is problematic when we have to 'test' the student. Because once you have to 'test' someone, usually it means cramming for an exam, which means = learn to pass, not communicate. It's like the IQ test, anyone can study and get a higher IQ, does that mean i'm smarter?

I can't say however, whether there is a more effective way of teaching any language. I think firstly, the teacher should be seen as a friend, not a commander (but a facilitator of the learning process), because if your friendly with your students, they may feel less nervous about making mistakes, encourage them to make mistakes. I believe it is all about the environment too, if you have a classroom full of movie posters, music, locations and scenery in places where English is spoken natively, students can see what exists beyond the classroom and that learning English or any language has a purpose. All the japanese classrooms at my university have pictures of sakura's, mountains and japanese educational posters.