[Deleted]
Have any of you tried the app Hellotalk to practice your target languages?

Has it helped you improve?

Apr 21, 2015 3:10 AM
Comments · 5

I've been on HelloTalk since I started learning Korean in August of last year (longer than I've been here), and I actually like HelloTalk better than italki.  First, as an English speaker, I like that the only people who see me with the standard search options are Korean-speakers learning English.  In all the time I've been on HelloTalk, I've only received 2 messages/requests from anyone who didn't speak Korean.  Second, as a woman, I like that they have <em>extremely</em> strict guidelines in place about dating solicitation/sexual harassment.  Also, since chatting occurs in the app, there's no chance of harassment happening on a third-party platform like Skype either.  Third, although I've never used it because my Korean is still so bad, I like that there's the option to basically force your exachange partner into speaking both languages.  Since my Korean is so bad, I find that my language partners and I default to English anyway, and it can be hard to get people who want to practice English to switch to speaking Korean, so I like that there's the structured language exchange option in HelloTalk.  Fourth, I like the built-in translate function.  Although it never produces fully understandable output, I like that the option is there - mostly because it can help me to understand my partners' Korean sentences without leaving the app, but also because if they use it to produce an English sentence, it shows me the original Korean sentence so I can get a glimpse into how my partners would be speaking to me if I were at a higher level.  And finally, this is very minor, but I really like that in the chat window it shows my partner's local time.  It saves me from having to do the "What time is it in Korea" calculation myself.

April 21, 2015

Italki Is a hundred times better than HELLOTALK.