Joey
Akkusativ, Nominativ, Dativ und Genativ

Hey guys, so I have been learning German for 3 months now and I am still very confuse in the German grammars. Especially when to use Nominative, Akkusative, Dative and Genative. I hope to have a discussion here and help me understand better with German grammar.

Vielen Dank

Apr 23, 2015 6:25 PM
Comments · 5

The German cases (Nominative, Accusative, Dative, Genitive) mark the (grammatical) functions of nouns in a sentence.
Now, what the heck does that mean?

Let's first take a look at the first three.

The Nominative marks the subject. The subject in a sentence is (more or less) the one executing the verb.
Example:
'The man is sleeping.'
'Der Mann schläft.'
--> 'The man' is executing the act of sleeping.

The Accusative and the Dative mark the object in a sentence.
There are basically two types of objects:
The direct object, marked by the Accusative, and the indirect object, marked by the Dative.
What this means becomes clearer with another Example:
'The man gives the bone to the dog'
'Der Mann gibt dem Hund den Knochen'

May 9, 2015

The subject here clearly is 'the man' executing the act of giving.
Now 'the bone' is directly influenced by the act of giving and is hence the direct object.
'The dog' on the other hand is only indirectly influenced, it has got 'the bone' now and is hence the indirect object.
In English the order and in this sentence the preposition 'to' are crucial.
Take note that, if you said,
'Der Mann gibt den Knochen dem Hund',
it would still be clear who gives what to whom (although this sentence is not idiomatic).

Furthermore, you use Accusative and Dative in combination wiht prepositions to indicate direction or location.
Examples:

'He puts the cup on the table.' (direction)
'Er stellt die Tasse auf den Tisch.' (Accusative)

'The cup is on the table.' (location)
'Die Tasse ist auf dem Tisch.' (Dative)

May 9, 2015

The Genitive is the case that indicates possession.
So the sentence,