Carolina
So many people on this website, but very few language partners.. what do you think?

Hi, Have you found a language partner for you? I haven't. :( I guess the time difference, I don't know... but it's so difficult... If you have had a different experience.. please tell me.. I'm giving up with this website..

Apr 28, 2015 2:45 PM
Comments · 51

That is exactly why if you REALLY want to learn, a language partner (in my opinion) is not so great.They don't really know how to help you improve as a teacher does.I am not just saying this because I am a teacher.I have a lot of experience with this and I know that after the first time all that happens is you run out of things to chat about.I had this problem when I got pen pals for my students at school.The first letters they were very excited but after two or three times they had nothing to discuss.A teacher can guide you to discuss themes or articles and lead you into discussion to help you improve your vocabulary and your grammar.A language partner doesn't know how to do this,or pick up on your mistakes and help you correct them.But it's up to you of course! :-)

April 28, 2015

Hi Carolina

I would say the same thing but "So many people but so few students!" WE are looking for different things. Since I am not looking to learn a language right now ,I am looking for students willing to pay me for my skill and experience as a teacher.You are looking for free language practice ha ha.

Well good luck I hope you find a partner soon.

April 28, 2015

It's best to have a clear and realistic idea of what you can acheive and how you can help.

Language exchange functions as real life practice in listening and talking. A person should not expect a language partner to be a teacher (if he/she is, then you are very lucky!). Nor can that person instantly be a friend. Realistically, how many people do you meet that talk in your own native language and can eventually become your friend? It's not that many.