Julia
what's a good way to learn more vocabulary and better pronunciation?

I need to Improve my english >.< 

May 3, 2015 1:40 PM
Comments · 5

If I am learning vocabulary for a class exam or test, I use flashcards.

When I learn vocabulary for my personal study of Spanish, I learn best by reading, listening, reading and writing using the vocabulary. If I do enough of that, I learn the vocabulary without even trying, just like I learned my native English vocabulary.

I improve my pronunciation by mimicing the accent of native speakers in recordings. Don't only try to copy the pronunciation, but also try to exactly copy everything about the sound: the accent, the rhythm, the speed, the character. When I teach my students (I am a Chinese language teacher) I tell them to mimic the recordings <em>almost as if they were making fun of the person's voice</em>.

May 3, 2015

The best way to learn vocabulary is through reading books.  I love reading and for myself, an English native, I find it very helpful with developing my vocab.

Goodluck :)

May 5, 2015

To learn new vocabulary you have to read a lot it's the only way! 

To learn pronunciation and improve you accent, you have to listen/watch a lot of movies, tv shows, documentaries, animes, lectures... etc listen and repeat.

Don't try to understand 100% of what you are reading or hearing!

May 5, 2015

Read a lot (of the right materials, depending on your level)

Speak a lot (with native speakers who knows the language well)

Listen a lot (particularly to news channels - they tend to have good pronounciations but also things like PBS, or BBC Dramas, prime time series on TV)

Write a lot (and get feedback for what you write)

(and get feedback on what you speak and write, and understand what you read and hear)