Chantal
Language learning during stressful times

Has anyone experienced learning a lanugage during stressful situations in their life?

I'm currently a unviersity student nearing the end of an intensive MA, and I've been trying to learn Korean at the same time for the past 6 weeks or so.

Everything was fine, but now I have two essays to complete by the end of next week. One is almost done and the other is in the research stages. I believe I will finish them on time, but I always get really stressed out and start worrying that I won't complete them on time. I'm wondering if I should temporarily give up learning Korean until the assignments have been submitted, and go back to it when I feel calmer and more relaxed in general.

Has anyone been in a similar situation? What did you do?

Jun 17, 2015 5:09 PM
Comments · 7

I am also really busy with university, so I do what has higher priorities - for me university over Korean ( 저도 한국어 골부해요 ^^). But usually I always try to find at least 20 minutes for Korean.

June 17, 2015

PS. My work is bery stressful. But It motivates me to learn English. I have to make my life better !:)

June 17, 2015

that's a good topic. I am 19 and I work 6days/week. It's really very difficult to find time and have motivation but I think that If you really want to speak some language. You will find time. Thats way I am here now, after my work :)

June 17, 2015

Thanks for responding, Richard. I normally don't review in essay breaks as I like to take short breaks of 10 minutes, and try to avoid mental work to rest my brain.

I think I was feeling particularly under pressure on Wednesday when I posted the message, but everything seems to be under control again now. I haven't thought about reviewing at lunchtime, which is when I do get a significant amount of time away from essay writing/lecture pre-reading, and I'll look into adding a short review during then. 

June 19, 2015