Melanie
Telling the time in dutch

My first language is english and I've just started learning telling the time in Dutch. 

For example

1:30

I would say 'one thirty' or 'half past one'.

Het is half twee is an unusual way for me to think of it and process the information. It's seems to take me a lot longer to come up with an answer.

Does anyone have any tips? 

Jun 27, 2015 2:12 PM
Comments · 4

I studied German first, and encountered this there. found this same phenomenon in Dutch. The easiest way to remember was to think of the "half" as being "to the hour", instead of "past the hour". It's just a matter of mentally moving the border between "to" and "past", so it's twenty-nine past nine, thirty to ten (or as the Dutch say, half ten/halb tien), twenty-nine to ten, twenty-eight to ten, etc. And then translate that to Dutch. :)

June 28, 2015

It's not only in Dutch! :) I think the reality is that our English way of using "half past" is unusual.

If it helps, you can practice by thinking of Dutch time as "half (to) two" or "half (an hour until) two".

Part of language learning includes turning your comfortable thoughts inside out and adapting to a different perspective. For example, if I want to say "I've got a..." in Turkish or Russian, I have to literally say "My... exists" or "By me, there's a..."  I can't use a literal translation from English. :)

June 27, 2015

The big difference is that in most(?) english spoken countries 'half' is used to indicate 'past the hour' whereas in Belgium & the Netherlands we use it to indicate 'towards the hour'. I think the most useful tip is to see time/hour as a pie chart that fills up as time goes along. So 'half twee' would represent half a cake, and 'twee uur' a full cake. That is  the analogy I always use when argueing about this topic with my wife :-)

And another tip: when making appointments in Dutch: use military times. That way you can never fail to show up too late or too early.

July 2, 2015