B'rynn
Is italki a good place to begin learning a language?

I only know a very small amount of Japanese, but I'm very interested in learning, is italki a good place for absolute beginners, or should I start somewhere else?

Jun 30, 2015 4:54 AM
Comments · 3

Pir is right. This site on it's own does not qualify for a good start. Yes, there are resources on this site that are useful but, they are more accessible to those who have at least some experience. I found a site recently for japanese and english speakers. It doesn't allow you to search for language partners. Instead, it allows you to ask questions about japanese or english. It revolves around the idea that, if all the hard work is taken out of asking the questions, you are more likely to continue. Natives (and sometimes your fellow english speakers) will answer your questions and often times, they will also give out tips about the language. If you are observant, you can ask questions and study the grammar from their answers. I would also advise that you consider listing whether you want a polite, casual, or rude answer.

The site is called Hinative.com

Check it out. If you need, I can also list some paid materials.

June 30, 2015

What's your budget?  How much Japanese do you want to learn?  Do you just want to speak it well enough to carry on simple conversations?  Do you want to understand anime in the original?  Or do you want to be able to read and write it as well?

As an additional resource italki is great, especially if you can afford a pro teacher to help you get started (can be very helpful when it comes to pronunciation; I'd say it's worth the money for that).  But if you're not made of money, this can't be your primary channel at the beginning of learning a language.  Once you can speak some, becoming part of the community here is very useful, but any random native speaker does not automatically make a good teacher, so you need to cover that elsewhere.