Lima
How Do we – as a second language learners - overcome Cultural Barriers to Communication ?

Language - misunderstandings are common among people who speak the same language, so it's not surprising that people from different cultural and linguistic backgrounds face communication barriers.
Although I have been studying English for four years, I still suffering from cultural barriers between my native language and the English one.
I read a lot, watch movies, I write and analyses, and I try even to think the way English native think, But still not enough.
A couple of weeks ago I had lost a friend due to these cultural barriers, I’m from the East, you know, and she is from the West, and we were chatting,,.
Then It happened that I wrote some words in Arabic, although she is not so bad in Arabic, she understood them in here English cultural mind, she got mad and lost it all.
So what do you think – as native English speaker- is the best way to overcome Cultural Barriers?

Jul 12, 2015 9:05 PM
Comments · 7

I think the only way to overcome this is if BOTH parties are open minded and aware that mistakes and misscomunnications are part of the process. If your westener friend got mad at you by the first sign of a weird moment, than he should keep talking with his own people.

Don't worry, not all people are ready for this. Keep talking and pushing to make friends. The right people will click eventually.

July 12, 2015

Oh Lima, that's a tough one!