Julian Snow
Tips for helping people with English

Hello Italki users, I've Skyped with many people and have had a great experience getting to know people from other Countries. Many of these people want to practice English and I want to do the best I can to help them. Usually I will ask simple questions and correct them every now and then but I feel like I can do more. I know I am not a professional teacher but I want to use the best of my abilites and not waste their time. Does anybody have tips or recommendations on how I could help these people, especially if I am not familiar with their language?

Jul 31, 2015 2:15 AM
Comments · 10

If they're still at a basic level but can somehow communicate, get some pictures and make them talk about it! For instance, grab pictures of people at a supermarket, ask him to describe what is going on, what people are looking for and buying. Then develop a conversation based on that, ask how often do they go to the supermarket, what they like buying, what they find expensive and etc. Trust me, it helps them build vocabulary, you make them interact and have a topic to discuss and there won't be those awkward silence moments of " errm, I don't know what to say now " hehe.

July 31, 2015

Julian, I had posted this comment on the Spanish discussion thread left by Pam regarding the very same sort of topic, yesterday.  I'm sure she won't mind if I share it here.  Hope it helps:

With the people I currently speak with, we often have an arrangement which involves either correcting a few points as we go along, or taking a few notes of what the other person says and then correcting these at the end.
A couple of my contacts were recently practising for official exams and wanted to speak about a relevant topic for about 15 or 20 minutes. I wrote a few notes during the conversation and then we talked about them after that.