Site Feedback
KristinD   Add to Favorites Visited 11 hours ago

Teaches: English

Languages: English, French, Spanish, Swedish, German, Korean, Polish

28, Female, From Canada, Living in Canada

Local time: Oct 21, 2014 11:15   (Eastern Standard Time)

I am a native English speaker who loves to teach and learn languages. I am a certified teacher, and have years of experience teaching both children and adults.
Schedule Session

160 ITC per hour
=16.0 USD

This teacher is currently not looking for new students View time schedule Contact Teacher

Professional Lessons  

Conversational English
  • English
  • 200 completed session(s)
160 ITC per hour
=16.0USD
160 ITC per hour
=16.0USD
English Grammar
  • English
  • 4 completed session(s)
160 ITC per hour
=16.0USD
160 ITC per hour
=16.0USD
Pronunciation and reading
  • English
  • 1 completed session(s)
160 ITC per hour
=16.0USD

Informal Tutoring  

Informal Tutoring: English
  • 73 completed session(s)
160 ITC per hour
=16.0USD

30 minute trial session

70 ITC 30 minutes
=7.0USD

About KristinD

About my lessons: I can offer informal, conversational tutoring as well as intensive grammar practice and vocabulary building. I can cater to all levels of learners - beginner, intermediate and advanced. I provide homework sheets for students who are interested. If you send me an email, I will respond within 24 hours. If you send homework to be corrected, please allow up to 72 hours (3 days.) During the session, we can do either Skype with video or without video - this is dependent on the preference of the student. After our session, I will email you a record of our session; any corrections made to your speaking, the new words you learned and grammar revised. This is for you to keep for your personal study, as well as a record of your learning.

About me: I have years of experience teaching people as young as 3 years old up to adulthood; online as well as in a classroom setting. I have been involved with the italki community since 2012 as a teacher, student and community member. I graduated in 2014 with a Bachelor of Education, and am looking forward to beginning my professional teaching career. Although English is my first language, I am a speaker of several other languages: French, Spanish and Swedish at the intermediate level, and German at the conversational level. I know first-hand the challenges experienced when learning a new language and I am here to help you overcome that and make the most of your online-study.

**Please note: I understand that sometimes things in life make us busy, and prevent us from attending our online internet sessions. If you cancel your session at least 24 hours in advance, then I will understand and make sure that the italki credits are returned to you. After this time however, I have already made arrangements to be there for you and have made myself unavailable to other students. For this reason, I expect to be paid for the session if you cancel less than 24 hours before.

Video Introduction

Teaching Tools

Audio only

Work Experience

    • In-class/One-on-one tutor,
    • Lakehead District School Board
    • 2013 - present
    • Thunder Bay Canada
    • Engaged kindergarten students with Individualized Learning Plans (IEPs) in stimulating vocabulary-building activities and motor-skill development tasks; assessed student improvement and collaborated with the classroom teacher to further enhance their learning • Individualized learning and assistance for grade 3 and 6 students with IEPs in preparation for the 2014 Education Quality and Accountability Office (EQAO) testing
    • French as a Second Language Classroom Assistant
    • Lakehead District School Board
    • 2014 - present
    • Thunder Bay Canada
    • Tutored students with IEPs one on one with literacy, phonemes and phonemic awareness and implemented engaging scaffolding activities in reading, writing and pronunciation • Assessed students’ proficiency and suggested/created additional activities catered to their learning needs and areas of strong engagement
    • ESL Teacher
    • Lingua Forum Academy
    • 2009 - 2010
    • Busan Korea, Democratic People's Republic of
    • Taught and mentored children between the ages of 3 and 12 years of age • Planned educational-based crafts, games and other learning activities that stimulated participation and enjoyment of all students in a welcoming, positive environment • Completed detailed and informative report cards for parents to keep track of student progress; was deeply involved in assessment of both spoken and written English
    • Spanish tutor
    • Private home
    • 2010 - 2011
    • King City Canada
    • Assisted, inspired and motivated high school student of a private school in completion of Spanish homework assignments and revision for exams • Helped increase student’s average from a B to an A level
    • Tutor of ESL
    • K-W Multicultural Society
    • 2008 - 2009
    • Kitchener/Waterloo Canada
    • Tutoring a newly landed immigrant one-on-one to assist with English vocabulary, grammar and reading through conversational and literary activities and exercises • Geared lessons and assessments to her individual learning needs and goals; played important part in student’s improvement of conversational English

Education

  • Diploma Uploaded
    • Lakehead University
    • 2013 - 2014
    Bachelor's , Education

Certificates

    • Bachelor of Education
    • Lakehead University
    • 2014
    Certificate Uploaded
KristinD

 Professional Teacher

Completed sessions 302
Students 80
RatingBETA 
Professional Lessons
Informal Tutoring
Instant Tutoring
Teacher sinceJun 05, 2014
Last session Oct 21, 2014