Site Feedback
Alan Add to Favorites Visited 7 hours ago

Teaches: English

Languages: English, Spanish, French, Italian

52, Male, From United States, Living in United States

Local time: Mar 27, 2015 03:41   (Central Standard Time)

Hi! I have been teaching ESL/EFL off and on for 25 years. I have a Master of Arts (M.A.) in Teaching English as a Second Language (TESOL).
Schedule Session

126 - 222 ITC per hour
=12.6-22.2 USD

(a) my lessons start at the BEGINNING of the hour, not at 30 minutes past the hour. (b) Please do not ask to schedule a lesson more than one week in advance. View time schedule Contact Teacher

Professional Lessons  

Specialized Communication Skills & Idioms!
  • English
  • 42 completed session(s)
180 ITC per hour
=18.0USD
Schedule Session
Help with Intermediate and Advanced Grammar
  • English
  • 0 completed session(s)
222 ITC per hour
=22.2USD
Schedule Session

Informal Tutoring  

Informal Tutoring: English
  • 0 completed session(s)
126 ITC per hour
=12.6USD
Schedule Session

Instant Tutoring  

56 ITC 30 minutes
=5.6USD
Request Instant Tutoring

About Alan

Hi! My name is Alan and I live in Texas.

My schedule includes tutoring and classes in communication skills, idioms, composition and grammar. I can add special classes if there is a demand for them.

I am very patient with a great sense of humor, and I like to develop a rapport with students to help my students relax and have fun learning English.

I have been teaching & tutoring ESL/EFL to students aged teen to adult for over twenty years. I have a Master of Arts (Una laureato in lettera/La maîtrise universitaire ès lettres ou maîtrise ès arts) in Teaching English as a Second/Foreign Language (TESOL).

I enjoy teaching/tutoring ESL via Skype. I have taught students from all over the world, including those from such places as China, Egypt, Lebanon, Russia, Ukraine, Lithuania, France, Germany, Spain, Italy, Vietnam, Taiwan, Peru, Columbia, Guatemala, and Mexico.

My love for foreign languages began when I was a teenager and listened to World Band Radio (Shortwave radio) and received foreign language material in German and Afrikaans. I still remember phrases from those lessons I took many years ago! :)

I speak some Spanish and I have also studied Russian, Greek, Latin, and French. Now I am beginning to learn Italian.

Teaching Tools

Audio / Video Available

Resume Uploaded

Work Experience

    • ESL Instructor
    • Creativity Works
    • 1992 - present
    • Austin United States

Education

    • University of North Texas
    • 1983 - 1986
    Bachelor's , History
    I majored in History with a concentration on modern Chinese History (1900-present). My Minor was Business Administration.
  • Diploma Uploaded
    • The University of Texas at Austin
    • 1989 - 1991
    Master's , Teaching English as a Second/Foreign Language
    Master of Arts (La maîtrise universitaire ès lettres ou maîtrise ès arts) in Teaching English as a Second/Foreign Language (TESOL).
Alan

 Professional Teacher

Completed sessions 46
Students 23
RatingBETA 
Professional Lessons
Informal Tutoring
Instant Tutoring
Teacher sinceJul 06, 2012
Last session Mar 27, 2015